top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Shoop-Volz

Magickal Ethics: Safe, Sane Practice

Updated: Feb 17, 2021

Regardless of how you practice, having an ethical code to follow not only helps prevent you from accidentally harming others, it also motivates you to reflect on what you actually want or need.

Image credit: Dollar Gill


Magickal practice often begins in secret, gradually leaking out of the broom closet as we continuously integrate it into our daily lives. Whether we’re out to just a few people, or regularly work spells in public parks without a care in the world, many of us are familiar with the following phrases:


“You’re a witch? Does that mean you’re gonna curse me?”
“Can you teach me how to hex people?”
“Whoa, cool, can you make <insert name> fall in love with me?”

Along with lots of internal eye rolling and sighs of frustration, comments like these underscore the need for us to practice magick with a careful hand. As magickal practitioners, we understand the very real effects magick can have on the world around us, and know that—just like science or medicine—magick must be practiced ethically.


To learn about how magick affects the physical world, check out What is Magick, Really?


Just like magickal practice, ethics in magick vary from person to person, though there are certain things most of us avoid, such as causing others lasting harm or violating their free will. Other than that, the way we craft our individual codes depends on how we practice.

Some ascribe to the Threefold Law, while others prefer “an’ it harm none, do as ye will.” Still others may reason that harm is acceptable in cases of self-defense (as it would be in cases of physical attack).


Regardless of how you practice, having an ethical code to follow not only helps prevent you from accidentally harming others, it also motivates you to reflect on what you actually want or need. For instance, rather than interfering with someone’s free will and casting a love spell on them, your code of ethics frees you to reframe the problem as a desire to build a loving, healthy relationship with a partner. You may then decide to cast a spell on yourself to attract (and help you recognize) opportunities for connection and romance.


When creating your personal ethical code, I urge you to embed it with protections for you and those around you to ensure your magickal practice is as safe, sane, and consensual as possible.


Below is the code I use for my practice:


1. Never interfere with another’s free will or personal agency. I will not compel anyone to do anything they would not ordinarily do.


Exception: Spells to repel or dismiss abusive/toxic persons from my sphere of influence, or from someone I am trying to protect.


The person being protected must give me permission to repel their abuser, unless they are a child.


2. Never cast a spell on/for someone without their knowledge and permission. Consent is important in all aspects of a healthy relationship.


Exception: Healing spells may be cast on immediate family members who do not know (and would not accept) that I am a witch.


Only forms of magick they would find comforting may be used, such as poetic prayer (essentially a chant), healing music, and my personal energy.


3. Never cast hexes or curses designed to cause physical or psychological harm.


Exception: Nonlethal hexes, curses, or banishings may be employed to remove toxic or harmful people from my life, or the lives of loved ones.


These spells should be used in combination with help from local agencies and authorities, when appropriate and possible.


Note that my ethical code is very short and concise, which makes it easy for me to remember and apply to new situations as I encounter them. For instance, if I move into a home with an annoying ghost, my ethical code directs me to reason with them first so that we can live in peace together. However, if the ghost becomes violent or harmful, I’m free to banish their translucent ass.


My code also includes reasonable exceptions to the rules I’ve put in place for myself. Though I generally want to avoid causing others harm—including violating their personal agency—I recognize that certain situations may require me to push back against a toxic, violent, or abusive person. As a witch, I view casting a nonlethal hex or banishing in the same light as defending myself from physical attack or obtaining a restraining order to maintain my physical and mental safety.


Perhaps you see things differently—and that’s perfectly fine! As long as your magickal practice is objectively safe, sane, and consensual, you’re good to go.


Curious about unusual magickal practices and taboos? Check out the Metaphysical Apothecary Podcast on Anchor!


Learn more!

The subject of magickal ethics is very broad and complex, and there's tons of rich info from practitioners across the web on the subject.


Check out the videos below to learn more about practicing magick ethically:




bottom of page